torn and confused

comments 11
Avian / Avian Rehome / Avian Rescue / Birds / Parrots / Photography

Ze 3

 

Recently, I experienced my first major Facebook encounter of a “not so nice” nature.  My words were misconstrued, as well as my intent.  I can’t really say how or why it happened, but it centered on my major passion, which is my love of parrots.

 

Few people realize the crisis that is going on in the avian community.  Literally there are hundreds of thousands of parrots needing rescue, a new home, or a safe sanctuary where they can live in peace.

 

Sadly, many people obtain a parrot for a “pet”, and fail to understand the complexity that goes along with bringing this creature into their home.  I am of the opinion these amazing birds were never meant for a “pet”.  One cannot make a comparison between having a cat or dog with having a parrot in your home.

 

I share my home with an Umbrella Cockatoo.  He is the love of my life, and the most amazing guy!  I don’t regret that we live together, but through him I’ve learned many lessons, many the hard way.  I will make sure he has the best quality of life that he can, living in captivity.  Provisions are in place for the day when I can no longer care for him, as his life span will surely exceed mine by decades.

 

Rescues, sanctuaries, foster entities and other groups exist in various form and structure all over the United States.  Some are soundly structured, adequately financed and are likely to succeed.  Others organize, without adequate research, funding or a strong support network.  Sadly, many fail, leaving yet another crisis these birds must endure.

 

My last statement is in no way made to condemn anyone that attempts to establish a rescue or vehicle for saving these birds.  I don’t believe that anyone starts such a mission thinking they will fail.  I also don’t believe many do their homework prior to undertaking such a mission.

 

Even sadder is the vast differences that exist among these groups.  The very groups that organize for the same purpose often find themselves at odds with other groups because they just don’t do things the same way.  These differences lead to often heated and nasty confrontations and takes away from the primary mission that is to save the birds.

 

I judge no one.  I am far from qualified to do so, and I don’t believe it would further the aid of these birds.

 

As in any industry, competition exists and that competition often lends itself to unpleasant experiences.   This “industry” (for lack of a better term), must take a hard look at itself, and come together if there is any hope of us achieving the goal of saving birds from horrific environments.

 

We are all different, but in an odd way we are all the same, as we want to help these birds live the life they should.  I leave you with a quote posted by a Facebook friend, Anju Arora:

 

The flute of the Infinite is played without ceasing, and its sound is love.
When love renounces all limits, it reaches truth.
How widely the fragrance spreads.
It has no end; nothing stands in its way.
~Kabir

 

I hope we can let our love of these birds follow those wise words.

 

 

 

11 Comments

  1. Thank you for taking time to stop by! This whole social media thing has be baffled, however it will NOT stop me seeking ways to help these amazing creatures!

  2. Very well said! Especially online, people can be too quick to jump to conclusions, as it sounds like what happened with you. One of my first jobs was working for a woman who raised and sold exotic parrots. I cleaned cages, fed and watered and handled the birds. And fell in love with and purchased two cockatoos, an umbrella and an eleanora. She would put too many birds in the cages, and they would either fight, or bond. The eleanora was subjected to the first, the umbrella, the latter. The eleanora turned out well, easy to handle, sociable with everyone. The umbrella strongly bonded to me, my boyfriend, and my mom, and will let no one else get close to her. She’s struggled with picking due to her rough start, too. I agree with you; while they are captive bred, they are exotic and not domestic animals, and should not be kept as pets. They can be very rewarding companions, but they take a lot of time, a lot of very specific care and knowledge. And most people aren’t prepared for it, or buy one simply because they’re pretty, or there’s the novelty of an animal that can talk. I saw plenty of those people come into the store, and it made me so angry. They would be the ones to bring the bird back after a year or two, claiming it had “changed.” When they most likely put it in a cage and never took it out or handled it, or paid it any attention. Kudos to you for having his future in mind after you’re gone! And he is beautiful, it’s obvious he is very spoiled and loved 🙂

  3. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have learn this put up and if I may I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing
    things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles
    relating to this article. I wish to read even more things approximately it!

  4. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

  5. I simply want to tell you that I am newbie to blogging and site-building and truly savored your web blog. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have beneficial article content. Many thanks for sharing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

