Why I do what I do!

comments 4
Photography

Image

 

 “A Sideways Passion”

As a member of the “Bird Loving Community”, one would think you would need a passion for birds of all species, especially parrots. You could imagine that you’d have a driving need to help these birds, to care for them and to ensure a happy and fulfilled life. 

You don’t. You need far, far more than that. Because loving birds just isn’t enough. You have to be able to make things work.

As a result of earning my Masters Degree in accounting, I’ve been an accountant, an adjunct professor and a Senior Vice President at a National Bank. I’ve always strived for a nice, tidy life where all the numbers add up and are stacked in neat columns and rows. 

When you’re working with parrots, this just doesn’t happen. Life gets messy and working with parrots, it gets even messier. 

I always knew I had talent and a drive, but I simply didn’t know how to channel it. It wasn’t until I discovered my love of aviculture that I realized my abilities for organization, for connecting people with a cause, and getting people excited about something that this mid-life epiphany gave me a direction to channel my talents.

There’s something about finally finding where you fit that brings a deep sense of satisfaction. And I managed to find that fit by being the dumbest person in the room.

If you surround yourself with talent, brilliance, genius and creative people, you’re going to learn something. You raise your level of knowledge at a very rapid clip. I learned a lot about the field in a very short period of time by doing just that.

And it was when I discovered a need in the field for my particular abilities, it was like coming home.

Finding your place in this field is harder than it looks. It’s like going to a restaurant and you realize that “All the good tables are taken.” Where was my place? How could I find where I belonged?

When I discovered the huge gap in the Avian community, I found a place where I could make a difference that mattered not only to me, but also to these incredible birds. Like many other people I entered the world of aviculture “sideways.”  Typically, I got my cockatoo the wrong way. Unaware there were adoptable birds that needed homes, I purchased her and blindly set out to be a good caregiver, not knowing there was a need for people like me   When I discovered the need, I finally found what I was meant to do.

I have always loved animals and I have had dogs and cats in my life since I was a child. Yet this is the first volunteer situation I’ve had that doesn’t just serve people. Perhaps that’s why I find it so satisfying.

My proficiencies in both PC and Mac computer systems, QuickBooks, public accounting and organization are available to the avian community.   My capacity for connecting people to this cause and getting people to care about what I am so passionate about have served me well in the past and continues to serve this amazing cause. Being an effective person at working with these birds takes drive, intuition and a knack for connecting people with other people. It takes a passion for getting a job done the right way. And it takes an understanding of human nature.

Because “just loving birds” simply isn’t enough.

http://www.parrotvillage.org

 

The Author

I am on a journey of discovery. One that involves discovering the world around me and discovering myself. I have found that using a camera is making this process of discovery much more enjoyable. I trust you will enjoy it as well. My passion for all animals knows no bounds, but it is the parrot that has caught my heart! I am now involved in a campaign to help bring parrots in the wild back into their normal existence! The Indonesian Parrot Project is first on my list, and with a little help from our friends we will bring the Abotti Cockatoo back into a full, strong life in their natural habitat.

4 Comments

  1. Very nice to learn more about you, Janet. You are an inspiration with so many talents to offer. And, a good egg. 🙂 Kristen

Leave a Reply

